Arducam 12MP*2 Synchronized Stereo Camera Bundle with RPi 4 camera not detected

Please be patient – I am new to RPi, although I have a lot of experience with Arduino. Just trying to get started with a brand 12 MP new sync stereo camera bundle and a new RPi 4, imaged with the latest 32-bit Raspberry Pi OS.

Followed the instructions in the tutorial video to connect the hardware. I should say – the video was hard to follow – too much text, and poor camera angles make it very hard to see proper flat cable orientations. After several attempts, I am confident I have the cables oriented correctly. I have followed the steps at Camarray – Arducam 12MP Synchronized Stereo Camera Bundle Kit - Arducam that apply to my situation as far as I can tell. Specifically, I followed these instructions:

If you are running the latest version of Raspberry Pi OS. (January 28th,2022 or later releases, Debian version:11(Bullseye)). You need to update the config file and use libcamera apps.

• For Raspberry Bullseye users running on Pi 4, please do the following:

sudo nano /boot/config.txt
Find the line: camera_auto_detect=1, update it to:
camera_auto_detect=0
dtoverlay=imx477
Save and reboot.

Camera does not appear in Raspberry Pi Configuration > Interfaces. vcgencmd get_camera returns supported=0 detected=0, libcamera interfaces=0. I enabled I2C, then rebooted as some posters suggested, but that did not change anything. I first attempted all of this with the latest 64 bit RPi OS, and when that did not work, I went through the same steps with the 32 bit OS, but the behavior seems the same.

The Raspberry Pi configuration interface does not match what I am seeing in your tutorial (Interfaces > Camera does not appear). The other instructions in the tutorial for “Raspberry Pi Compute Module 3/4” and “Basic Usage on the Legacy System” seem not to apply to my configuration.

Here are photos of my connections:

What steps can I take from here?

1 Like